We are a Fully Licensed NYS Inspection and Safety Emissions facility. Every car registered in New York State is required to be inspected within NYS. If your car is not inspected, or if your inspection expires you risk fines and penalties. Automotive Inspections are mandatory, but they do not have to be a hassle. Inspections are quick and should take no longer than 20 minutes. Do not wait till the last minute. Let our auto mechanics get you back on the road safely and quickly.Come in or call ahead for an appointment.
(Below you will find some basic information from the New York State DMV)
Do I need to get my vehicle inspected in New York State?
Yes. All vehicles registered in New York State must get a safety inspection at an official DMV-licensed inspection station
Every 12 months
When the ownership of the vehicle is transferred
A valid inspection sticker must be displayed on your vehicle. If your vehicle does not have a valid inspection
you cannot renew your vehicle registration 1
you can receive a fine 2
you can receive a parking ticket 3
Most vehicles must also get an emissions inspection at the time of the safety inspection. 4 The New York Vehicle Inspection Program (NYVIP2) page provides information about both the safety and emissions inspections. You can find additional information in these brochures
Where can I get my vehicle inspected?
At a DMV-licensed inspection station. Licensed stations display a yellow and black sign that reads, ‘Official Inspection Station.’ Motorcycle inspection stations display a blue and orange sign.
What are the fees for the inspection?
Inspection fees can be found on the Inspection Groups and Fee Chart (VS-77).
What is checked during an inspection?
The DMV brochure, New York State Vehicle Safety/Emissions Inspection Program for Cars and Light Trucks (C-50) lists the equipment items checked during a safety inspection, and a description of the safety inspection.
I bought my vehicle from a dealer. Does the dealer do the inspection?
Yes. The dealer must have the vehicle inspected within 30 days of the date of sale and prior to delivery.
I bought my vehicle from a private seller (not a dealer). How much time do I have to get my vehicle inspected?
If you buy or get a vehicle from someone other than a dealer registered with the NYS DMV, you will receive an inspection extension that will last 10 days from the date of the registration.
An inspection issued to the previous registrant is not valid.
I will become a resident of New York State and will register my vehicle here. Do I need to get a New York State inspection as soon as I register?
No. Your out-of-state inspection remains valid until it expires, or for one year after the vehicle is registered in New York, whichever comes first. When your out-of-state inspection expires, you must get the vehicle inspected here.
If the previous inspection was performed in a jurisdiction that does not issue an inspection sticker, you must have your vehicle inspected in New York.